Jörgs Motorcyle Pages: Speedometer adapter for ACE-TA7, e.g. BMW 2V airheads and Moto Guzzi

Introduction

What is this page about?

ACE-TA7 Pulse Shaper PS-A

The company Acewell markets a range of "Digital Speedometer Cables" such as the ACE-TA7 (labeled as ACE-S11 in some countries). They can be used instead of the original speedometer drive. Essentially, these units contain a Hall effect sensor. The sensor generates an electrical signal; the frequency of this signal is a function of speed. This signal can then be processed further with an electronic speedometer.

It would appear that these units were developed only for Acewell's own instruments; a data sheet e.g. for the ACE-TA7 seems not to be available (as of May 2013).

To enable the use of these sensor units with other types and brands of speedometers, I have developed the level shifter PS-A presented here.

Availability

The PS-A is available since summer 2013. If you are interested, please order via this page.

How it works

The Hall sensor unit, such as the ACE-TA7 (which you need to buy yourself!), receives its supply voltage from the PS-A. Per every revolution of the encoder - the "speedo cable" -, one pulse train is generated.

The PS-A converts this "noisy" analogous signal of the sensor into a well-defined digital signal.

The detailed circuit is not open for discussion; however, the circuit contains:

Suitable speedometers

Speedometers tested

The following is a complete list of all speedometers that have been tested and reported back to me. If a specific speedometer model is not listed, this simply means that it has not been tested yet ... or nobody bothered to share the results. This list is updated with feedback from the community, i.e. your feedback.

As a side note: please do not ask "do you have any news regarding the speedometer XY". The current status is always listed in the table below; even a Fail is fine for me. I do not have the intention to make "all" speedometers work with this unit ;-)

Those who feel a need to get the circuit adapted to a specific speedometer model can commission a custom made adapter. You will need to send me the speedo in question for a few days so I can develop and test the circuit with that specific speedo unit.

Manufacturer Type Result Remarks Contributor
Motogadget motoscope mini/classic/pro, chronoclassic Pass Motogadget
Motogadget motoscope tiny/speedster/vintage Pass Please order "PS-A-Tiny", the standard PS-A-12 will not work with the Tiny. Own test (JHa)
Motogadget SureShift Pass Motogadget
MMB E-Tacho D48 and D80 of 1st Generation Pass MMB says "W>1000 desirable, otherwise the instruments might oscillate." MMB
MMB ELT48, 60 und 80 Pass MMB says "W>1000 desirable, otherwise the instruments might oscillate." Clients report that W=691 is perfectly stable. MMB & User
Touratech IMO 100R300 Pass User
SIXO SIXO 2.0 Pass Very stable, MAX speed works as designed User
KOSO, T+T and clones All models Fail Potentially a software problem; it would appear that he speedo does not recognize the symmetrical signal of the sensor. We contacted KOSO in 2014-02 but never received an answer. User
Daytona Velona Pass works as designed User

Other speedometer types?

Your speedo is not listed above? I can eventually provide a test circuit that emulates the signal of the transducer at two different speeds upon request. If you are interested (especially as speedometer manufacturer), please get in touch with me.

Installation

Installation

Installation is basically simple since there are only 4 wires: input from the speedo sensor, exit to the speedometer, supply voltage and ground. Detailed instructions are, of course, included.

Here is the "but":

Technical Data

Hall sensor Input

The PS-A was designed specifically for the Hall sensor ACE-TA7 and I have good reasons to believe that most of the ACE-S... types should work, too.

Output to Speedometer

The signal at the output of the PS-A is a square wave. In the standard version PS-A-12, the signal level switches between "almost ground" (LO) and "almost supply voltage" (HI). A special type PS-A-5 is available where the HI-level is limited to ca. 5 V; other versions are available upon request.

The output line has a built-in resistor that provides short-time short-circuit protection.

Due to the construction of the ACE-TA7, the duty cycle of this signal is roughly 50%. This may be incompatible with some speedometers (KOSO, T+T and clones), cf. list above.

Power Supply

The PS-A requires a power supply of 12 V DC (nominal), usually the power supply of the motorcycle. The circuit is active as soon and as long as the supply voltage is applied and can operate down to approx. 8 V.

Two LED provide an indication of operation. They light up with the rhythm of the signal; one of the two LEDs is always lit.

Dimensions

Diameter ca. 20 mm, length ca. 52 mm, weight ca. 40 g (typical). The entire circuit is potted in epoxy and painted, thus protected against vibration and weather.

What else?

Legal Notice

Important Note: The PS-A was developed without any support from the company Acewell. All data were obtained experimentally and tested under various operating conditions so that, according to the data that I have, reliable operation should be given. However, since I can not guarantee that the sensor will be made with the same specifications in the future, I cannot guarantee that the PS-A will work with future versions. Thank you for your understanding.

Jörgs Motorcyle Pages: Pegelwandler für ACE-TA7, z.B. BMW 2V und Moto Guzzi

Einleitung

Um was geht es hier?

ACE-TA7 Pulse Shaper PS-A

Die Firma Acewell vertreibt eine Reihe von "digitalen Tachometer-Kabeln" wie z.B. der ACE-TA7 (in manchen Ländern auch unter der Bezeichnung ACE-S11 erhältlich). Diese Kabel enthalten einen Hall-Effekt-Sensor und sind dafür gedacht, die mechanische Tachowelle zu ersetzen. Der Sensor erzeugt ein Analog-Signal, das nach "Aufbereitung" durch einen elektronischen Tacho ausgewertet werden kann.

Nach meiner Erfahrung sind diese Geber ab Werk nicht mit Tachometern anderer Hersteller kompatibel. Ein Datenblatt ist nicht erhältlich (Stand Mai 2013).

Um den Geber auch mit Tachometern anderer Marken verwenden zu können, habe ich den hier beschriebenen Pegelumsetzer PS-A entwickelt.

Ein mail von einem zufriedenen Kunden in UK (2017): ... received the PS-A and installed it no troubles at all, worked first time with the Motoscope Pro. I am also really impressed with the craftsmanship of the product. The encapsulation in the black epoxy and the clear window of the PCB is flawless and impressive. I lead an international team whom is currently semi-finalists in the ongoing $7m Shell Ocean Discovery XPRIZE competition, which is looking to evolve large scale robotic subsea scanning. You can see more about it on our website: www.team-tao.org
The reason for my email was to say some of the PCBs on our robots are encapsulated in a hard epoxy to make them pressure passive but the aesthetics of the finished encapsulation is not any where as good as your's and was wondering if you could please provide some basic tips. [...] I really appreciate you’re input. Kind regards, Dale
. -- Vielen Dank, Dale!

Verfügbarkeit

Der PS-A ist seit Sommer 2013 verfügbar. Bei Interesse: Bitte über diese Seite bestellen.

So funktioniert es

Der Hallgeber, z.B. der ACE-TA7 (den Sie selbst kaufen müssen!), wird vom PS-A mit der nötigen Betriebsspannung versorgt. Auf 1 Umdrehung der "Tachowelle", d.h. des Gebers, wird 1 Impulsfolge erzeugt.

Der PS-A setzt dieses "verrauschte" Signal in ein genau definiertes Rechtecksignal um ... und zwar bereits ab der ersten Umdrehung des Gebers.

Die genaue Schaltung steht nicht zur Diskussion; enthalten sind:

Kompatible Tachometer

Getestete Tachometer

Die folgende Liste enthält alle Tachometer, die bisher getestet wurden und zu denen ich ein Rückmeldung erhalten habe. Wenn ein spezifischer Tacho nicht aufgezählt wurde, dann bedeutet das lediglich, dass er nicht getestet wurde ... oder dass derjenige keinen Wert darauf legte, seine Ergebnisse mitzuteilen. Diese Liste lebt von der Community, d.h. vom Feedback der Nutzer.

Ein Hinweis: Bitte keine Anfragen à la "gibt es was neues zur Kombination mit dem Tacho XY". Der aktuelle Stand ist immer hier unten in der Tabelle zu finden. Auch wenn dort Fail steht: Ich habe nicht die Absicht, die Schaltung mit "allen" Tachos dieser Welt zum funktionieren zu bringen ;-)

Wer die Schaltung unbedingt an ein bestimmtes Tacho-Modell anpassen lassen möchte, der kann das von mir als Auftragsarbeit nach Absprache machen lassen. In so einem Fall brauche ich den betroffenen Tacho für einige Tage als Leihgabe.

Hersteller Typ Ergebnis Anmerkung Berichterstatter
Motogadget motoscope mini/classic/pro, chronoclassic Pass Motogadget
Motogadget motoscope tiny/speedster/vintage Pass Bitte speziell den "PS-A-Tiny" bestellen, der normale PS-A-12 funktioniert nicht mit dem Tiny. Selbst getestet (JHa)
Motogadget SureShift Pass Motogadget
MMB E-Tacho D48 und D80 der 1. Generation Pass MMB sagt: "W>1000 erwünscht, sonst könnten die Instrumente pendeln." MMB
MMB ELT48, 60 und 80 Pass MMB sagt: "W>1000 erwünscht, sonst könnten die Instrumente pendeln." Kunde: "Bei W=691 pendelt nix!" MMB & User
Touratech IMO 100R300 Pass User
SIXO SIXO 2.0 Pass Sehr stabile Anzeige, MAX Anzeige störungsfrei User
KOSO ? (älteres Modell ohne erkennbaren Typ) Pass Der Signaleingang ist die graue Leitung zum Original-Hallgeber. Selbst getestet (JHa)
T+T und KOSO Multifunktionsinstrument D-Serie" (KBA 91397) Pass Der Signaleingang ist die braun/weisse Leitung zum Original-Hallgeber. Selbst getestet (JHa)
Daytona Velona Pass works as designed User

Andere Tachometer?

Ihr Tachometer ist nicht in der Liste? Ich kann auf Anfrage eine Testschaltung zur Verfügung stellen, die das Signal des Wandlers bei 2 verschiedenen Geschwindigkeiten "emuliert". Bei Interesse (insbesondere von Seiten der Tachometer-Hersteller) bitte ich um Kontaktaufnahme.

Einbau

Einbau

Der Einbau ist im Grunde einfach, denn es sind nur 4 Anschlüsse zu verdrahten: Eingang vom Tachogeber, Ausgang zum Tacho, Betriebsspannung und Masse. Eine genaue Anbauanleitung wird selbstverständlich mitgeliefert.

Das "aber":

Kenndaten

Hallgeber-Eingang

Der PS-A wurde für den Tachogeber ACE-TA7 entwickelt. Nach den bisher vorliegenden Erfahrungen kann ich davon ausgehen, dass er auch mit fast allen anderen Gebern der ACE-S... Serie funktioniert.

Tacho-Ausgang

Das Tachosignal am Ausgang des PS-A ist ein Rechtecksignal, das in der Standardausführung PS-A-12 zwischen "nahezu Masse" (LO) und "nahezu Betriebsspannung" (HI) hin und her geht. Bei der Sonderausführung PS-A-5 ist das HI-Signal auf ca. 5 V beschränkt; andere Ausführungen sind auf Anfrage lieferbar.

Im Ausgang liegt ein Widerstand, der den Geber kurzzeitig kurzschlussfest macht.

Das Ausgangssignal liegt jeweils etwa die Hälfte der Zeit auf HI und die andere Hälfte auf LO (Duty Cycle 50%). Dies ist durch die mechanische Konstruktion des ACE-TA7 bedingt.

Stromversorgung

Der PS-A benötigt eine Stromversorgung durch die Bordspannung des Motorrades, nominell ca. 12 V DC. Der Wandler und der Sensor laufen zuverlässig bis ca. 8 V.

Zur Funktionskontrolle und Diagnose sind 2 LED eingebaut, die im Rhythmus des Signals aufleuchten.

Abmessungen

Durchmesser ca. 20 mm, Länge ca. 50 mm, Gewicht ca. 40 g (typisch). Die gesamte Schaltung ist vibrations- und wetterfest in Epoxidharz vergossen und lackiert.

Was noch?

Legal Notice

Wichtiger Hinweis: Der PS-A wurde ohne jegliche Unterstützung der Fa. Acewell entwickelt. Sämtliche Daten wurden experimentell ermittelt und unter verschiedenen Betriebszuständen getestet; nach dem Stand der Technik sollte zuverlässige Funktion gegeben sein. Da ich jedoch nicht sicherstellen kann, dass der o.g. Geber auch in Zukunft noch mit denselben Spezifikationen gefertigt wird, kann ich keine Garantie übernehmen, dass es auch mit zukünftigen Ausführungen in derselben Weise arbeiten wird - Danke fürs Verständnis.